Marxism 2014 Festival Part One: Getting There and Day 1

Hello and welcome to the first in a series of posts, interspersed with my more regular posts that I will be producing about this year’s Marxism Festival.

Travelling down on the 11:56 train (one hour later than usual, as the start of the event was postponed to enable people to take part in Public Sector strikes) I arrived in very good time to deposit my heavier luggage and take my place at the first meeting, which in my case was on What is fascism?, with Jo Cardwell from Waltham Forest. I then took in Brian Richardson on Malcolm X, before attending the opening rally, in a jam packed Logan Hall. There were some wonderful contributions throughout. While the most enthusiastic reception was accorded to South African miner Makhanya Siphamandla that for Afghan asylum seeker Manjeet Kaur was barely any less enthusiastic.

Following the final rally it was time to hook up with the person I was going to be staying with (yes, this time I had actually had details of my accommodation in advance) to make arrangements. This was achieved with the aid of a borrowed mobile and without too much difficulty. Having established that we would have to travel back together each evening as there was only one key and no possibility of cutting a replacement due to the nature of the lock we headed straight back (I was not keen on hanging around with all my bags in tow.

The route we took that night involved the Piccadilly and Jubilee lines (the latter inescapable because the local station at the other end was Canning Town), although we did not use the Piccadilly again. Never mind the hideous eyesore of a development that bankrupted its developers, the true icon of that area is a building designed by Erno Goldfinger where the lift shafts are separate from the main building, and linked to each floor by passageways.

As usual I have plenty of photos…

?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ??????????

Abstract art on one side of the Elvin Hall
Abstract art on one side of the Elvin Hall
Abstract art in the Elvin Hall
Abstract art in the Elvin Hall

?????????? ??????????

The Fight for Inclusive Education (wall art in Nunn Hall)
The Fight for Inclusive Education (wall art in Nunn Hall)

??????????

A bust of Mr Jeffery outside the hall named in his honour at the Institute of education.
A bust of Mr Jeffery outside the hall named in his honour at the Institute of education.

?????????? ??????????

A packed Logan Hall ready for the opening rally.
A packed Logan Hall ready for the opening rally.

?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? Outside my accomodation

Bird life in the capital
Bird life in the capital

Part of the building by day Erno Goldfinger's building by night

A bottle opener at my accommodation.
A bottle opener at my accommodation.

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

3 thoughts on “Marxism 2014 Festival Part One: Getting There and Day 1”

Leave a Reply

