Heritage Open Day 5: Out and about in Lynn on the big day

The combination of the fact that King’s Lynn is not huge and that I live plumb in the centre of it meant that for me at least my sole method of locomotion would be Shanks’ Pony. Some of the things that I saw while walking between official sites could have been seen on any day, others only this day but the picture of the day (pardon the pun) would be incomplete without reference to the in-between bits as the whole town was decked out for the day – and the weather gods lent their support by providing a lovely warm day for the occasion.

In terms of distances of greater than a few yards my itinerary was planned (with scenic routes taking priority at every turn) as follows: Flat – Tuesday Market Place – Great Ouse – Southgates via Hardings Pits – Red Mount Chapel via parkland – Flat and with the addition at the end of a couple of places on King Street which looked interesting that is the route I followed. Not many others opted for scenic routes – I was all but alone for the walk to Southgates.

My next post takes you underground once more, to the cellars of the Bank Hotel, before resurfacing for the rest of the journey – meantime enjoy an eclectic collection of pictures…

No - I did not drink from this barrel!
No – I did not drink from this barrel!
This longboat was an inventive idea.
This longboat was an inventive idea.
This plaque is on a stretch of road I do not usually walk down
This plaque is on a stretch of road I do not usually walk down

?????????? ??????????

These birds are not among the kinds I usually see here at the Nar Outflow
These birds are not among the kinds I usually see here at the Nar Outflow

Sea Scouts building

Bus
I travel in so many buses that not even a free ride tempted me to actually board this one!
Ferry
To adapt a Sherlock Holmes line seeing the Lynn Ferry travel in this direction is like seeing a tram on a country lane!
The statue atop the Bank Hotel
The statue atop the Bank Hotel

??????????

Boats of this sort are not common on the Great Ouse
Boats of this sort are not common on the Great Ouse

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

