Heritage Open Day 8: The South Gate – a Medieval TARDIS

After thoroughly enjoying myself learning about fisheries research I headed along the Great Ouse as far as Hardings Pits, through Hardings Pits to ultimately join the main road just beyond the South Gate – not the quickest, but the most scenic route, and well within the compass of Shanks’ Pony.

Obviously, living where I do, I have seen this building from the outside some thousands of times, but I had never previously been inside it. I was amazed at just how much is contained within the building – perhaps liking it to the TARDIS in this regard is excessive but not unduly so.

The ground and first floors merely contained artefacts relating to the building and some display boards, but the top floor, which spanned the width of entire building also had scale models, a very old painting, and some brass rubbing plates (I could not get a shot of these latter as they were in use throughout).

This building opens between 12 and 3PM Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays in the summer months and I recommend if you in west Norfolk in summertime that you pay it a call.

Look out for my next post, about the Red Mount Chapel and enjoy these photos from the medieval TARDIS….

The Southgate approaching the town
This external view reveals a handsome old gateway but gives no clue as to how much there is inside (hence the title of this post)

Farewell to the South Gate ??????????

This lantern was in a niche.
This lantern was in a niche.

??????????

Iron roof supports joining together in the middle
Iron roof supports joining together in the middle
I thought this brickwork pattern deserved close attention.
I thought this brickwork pattern deserved close attention.

Chest Niches ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? ?????????? Old iron Fireplace Old painting Second Floor info board ?????????? ?????????? Renovation Scale Model 2 Scale Model

See what I mean about the top floor?!
See what I mean about the top floor?!
An interesting round window.
An interesting round window.

Table The first floor Fireplace Description board The ground floor from the entrance

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

1 thought on “Heritage Open Day 8: The South Gate – a Medieval TARDIS”

Leave a Reply

