Auction and a Response to ClivveW

The catalogue for James and Sons sale this coming Saturday at the Maids Head Hotel, Norwich is available for viewing at http://www.the-saleroom.com/en-gb/auction-catalogues/james-and-son-auctioneers/catalogue-id-2901714

Today I have both managed to complete the information gathering for our last sale on 29/11/2014 and get the database ready for our next sale this coming Saturday. As part of this I am able to share with you descriptions and images of the lots that did best in relative terms at our last auction. Some of the images included as part of this are not my work. I will mention in the captions I provide when images are not mine.

The second part of this post is a response to the following tweet (I did not think I could do it in 140 characters):

Clivve@ClivveW 4h4 hours ago

The killing fields in Cambodia is why I have no time for atheism.

As briefly as possible: this was an atrocity committed by an atheist not an atrocity committed in the name of atheism. This is in direct contrast to the almost innumerable list of atrocities carried out not merely by religious people but in the name of religion.

Now for those images (and a PDF file – I have taken care that no personal details of anyone are included)

This is lot 13 - the first item to do significantly better than expected
This is lot 13 – the first item to do significantly better than expected

347a 347 ???????????????????????? 344a 344

This is the last image that is not my work.
This is the last image that is not my work.

295

Again, not imaged by me.
Again, not imaged by me.
Another of the ones I did not image.
Another of the ones I did not image.

40 ?????????? 37a

The next three images are of the sewing machine which astonished us all be reaching £140
The next three images are of the sewing machine which astonished us all be reaching £140

Bragging Rights

This item is another not imaged by me.
This item is another not imaged by me.

?????????? 754 ?????????? 753 725b ????????????????????????

In going above estimate this item also went out of my reach.
In going above estimate this item also went out of my reach.

592 581

This was one of the items I did not image .
This was one of the items I did not image .

352

We were delighted when this sold - and it going for above estimate was a bonus. The weight of this item meant that we had specified that the buyer had to collect.
We were delighted when this sold – and it going for above estimate was a bonus. The weight of this item meant that we had specified that the buyer had to collect.

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

