Weekend Wanderings: Yackandandah Part 1

There are some excellent photographs in this post about a mining town…

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Last week or the week before I had to go to Wodonga with my daughter, she had to do something at the University there, and in the morning I had some time to kill so  some friends suggested that I go to Yackandandah to look around and take some photos.  It is an old Gold Mining town, and I have to say I wasn’t disappointed.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1090

There you are the sign says it all. Like many places in Victoria gold played a big part in their history.  You can see the remnants of that period in them as well.

yackandandah-town-gorge-gold-old-1035

The wide footpaths in the main streets with the verandah part covering the whole part of the footpath.  Such an old fashioned thing now.  I love seeing them.  Walking along the street here I was very much reminded of Maldon, another gold rush town in Victoria, but Maldon is so much busier…

View original post 372 more words

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

