A Soupcon of Family History

An account of mission mixing photography with family history.

INTRODUCTION

This weekend just gone we were in Kegworth to attend the wedding of a cousin of ours (see future blog posts). A coincidence of the registry office not being big enough to accommodate everyone and a road in Kegworth bearing a rather curious name led to a mission to carry out some research…

THE BACK STORY

Dr Jeffares of Kegworth was sufficiently honoured in his own town that a street was named after him. Dr Jeffares’ Great Great Grandson is my nephew Zachary, present on this side of the world for once (he and his  mother live in Indonesia). Since neither Zac nor I were going to be at the ceremony itself, it seemed a good idea to get a picture of him and the street sign that bears his ancestor’s name…

LOCATING IT

Use of google maps turned up all the information necessary to find the road in question, especially as  we were booked into the Kegworth Hotel and Conference Centre, which as you will see is very close to the target…

The google street view showing me what I would be looking for.
The google street view showing me what I would be looking for.
The google map picture showing the location in detail.
The google map picture showing the location in detail.

THE PHOTOGRAPHS

Given our starting point of the Kegworth Hotel and Conference Centre, it was a very brief matter to locate the Jeffares Close sign. After discovering that I could not get a shot from the same side of the road as the sign I crossed and used the telescopic zoom lens on my Nikon Coolpix P530 to get pictures from long range…

JCZ JCZ2 JCZ3

This final pictures is customised for use as a featured image...
This final pictures is customised for use as a featured image…

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

1 thought on “A Soupcon of Family History”

Leave a Reply

