New Glasses and Other Stuff

The story of a failed pair of spectacles, plus a few other bits.

INTRODUCTION

This post covers the new glasses in the title, a day at the races and a new badge.

THE GLASSES

This is a story that spans some months. First one arm came off the frame (and as the picture at the end of this section will show, refixing it properly was an impossibility). Then the second arm detached itself in the same way. I visited the Eye Man, an independent optician in Fakenham, to see what he could do, and as a proper repair job was impossible he did a band-aid job for which he did not charge.

That band-aid job then ceased to function properly, so eight days ago I obtained my prescription from Specsavers and took it to the Eye Man to have a new pair made. The Eye Man had an unexpected delay receiving a delivery, so it was only yesterday that I was able to pick up the new glasses, which by the way are a great success. In the mean time, the old frame developed one final problem at the tail-end of its working life – the frame had slightly warped, so that the left lens was no longer tightly held – and fell out several times.

I conclude this section with a picture of the defunct pair of glasses…

Specsavers

A DAY AT THE RACES

New Year’s Day was a race-day at Fakenham. I was staying at East Rudham, there being no buses, and attended along with several other family members. My mother had two huge wins, which between them left her some ¬£200 in credit for the day (even though she paid for day memberships for all five of us), and all of us save one had a win somewhere along the way. I have some pictures from the day…

DSCN8370DSCN8371DSCN8372DSCN8373DSCN8374DSCN8375

DSCN8376
The Prince of Wales Suite (rather more crowded than for a James & Sons auction) and Tote tower.
DSCN8377
A packed house in the grandstand (we were watching from the other side of the course, having crossed early to save a bit of time getting out)
DSCN8378
Fakenham church tower in the distance.

DSCN8379

That evening my nephew set off some sparklers in the courtyard…

THE BADGE

Yesterday was my first day at work in 2016, and a colleague gave me an old badge (I had earlier given him one of my calendars) which he had got hold of. As a public transport user and proud supporter of Bring Back British Rail¬†I was delighted with this…

DSCN8415DSCN8416

 

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

