The effect that blaming autism on vaccines has on actual autistic children

An important post from the owner of Autcraft, the Minecraft server for autistic people…

This is what I see from children who are afraid that their parents see them as disappointing, broken representations of the child they really wanted.

Source: The effect that blaming autism on vaccines has on actual autistic children

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

4 thoughts on “The effect that blaming autism on vaccines has on actual autistic children”

  1. In my opinion, as dad to an autistic son, is that the vaccines are not the culprit. Vaccines have been around a fairly long while. The increase in autistic children doesn’t coincide with the timeline of vaccines being prevalent. Sure, years ago there may have been missed diagnoses. But I believe with all my heart that autism is somehow linked to GMO’s used by food giants like Monsanto. I think they are slowly poisoning the children of the world in name of profit. Of course, that’s just my opinion. As far as my son knowing he’s different, we’ve not hidden that from him, and he’s figured that out for himself. But we explain why and that it doesn’t mean he’s less of a person or a disappointment. He didn’t choose to be autistic.

    1. The last sentence of your comment is the crucial one for me (while acknowledging that you like the original author of the full post to which I have linked are correct on vaccines) – making it quite clear the different does not equal lesser. Thank you for taking the time to post such a constructive comment.

      1. My pleasure. I’m always up for a discussion on causes of and adaptations applied with respect to life on the spectrum. Thank you for doing what you do to bring awareness.

Leave a Reply

