Uppsala – A Bit More Exploring Before Checking In

The latest installment in my series of posts about my recent holiday in Sweden.

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to the next installment in my series of posts about my recent holiday in Sweden. This post picks up the story from the end of my visit to the Uppsala University Museum, which I covered here.

CONTINUING MY EXPLORATIONS

On leaving the museum I took a brief walk in one direction, before deciding that it lacked appeal, and on looking for alternatives I found the University Park, and headed that way. Before making that firm decision I had taken these photographs…

DSCN9749DSCN9750DSCN9751DSCN9752DSCN9753

After taking the picture above I entered…

THE UNIVERSITY PARK

The University Park features runestones, a central statue, a view of the main university building (swathed in scaffolding on this occasion) and various other points of interest…

DSCN9754
A runsetone
DSCN9755
The explanation

DSCN9756

DSCN9757
If this arrangement of statues with the man on a raised pedestal looking down on the woman at ground level was this close to a UK or US university building there would likely be petitions circulating demanding its replacement on grounds of sexism!
DSCN9758
The building itself
DSCN9759
Close up of the name.
DSCN9764
A close up one of the two pieces of bronze work that flank the name on the university building.
DSCN9760
The cathedral from this vantage point
DSCN9761
zooming in on the clockface
DSCN9762
The crosses at the top of the twin spires, with an aeroplane in the background.

DSCN9765

DSCN9766
The statues again

DSCN9767DSCN9768DSCN9769DSCN9770DSCN9771

BACK TOWARDS MY ACCOMMODATION

I continued my explorations a little longer, buying lunch from the Pressbyran in Stora Torget, the main square of the city and taking some more photographs. In Stora Torget I saw some heavy duty evangelising going on, a sound system having been set up to enable these individuals to preach to anyone who passed – the only such incident in over two weeks in Sweden (not a claim one would ever be able to make in the UK).

DSCN9772
The cathedral from below.

DSCN9773

DSCN9774
The view from the bridge that gives access to the folk museum.

DSCN9775DSCN9776DSCN9777DSCN9778

DSCN9779
The main building in Stora Torget

DSCN9780DSCN9781DSCN9782DSCN9783DSCN9784

DSCN9785.0
Both sides of the map I was given at the tourist information office.
DSCN9785
The Map itself
DSCN9786
The attractions, quite a few of which I got to see.

DSCN9787DSCN9788DSCN9789DSCN9790DSCN9791

MY ACCOMMODATION

I had booked accommodation in a four-bed dorm room at a ridiculously cheap price. The room was windowless, and I my bed was a top bunk, accessed by way of a wooden framework (to call it a ladder would overstate the case). My official review for booking.com can be seen here.

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

2 thoughts on “Uppsala – A Bit More Exploring Before Checking In”

Leave a Reply

