Departure Time

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to the latest installment in my series of posts about my holiday in Sweden. After this post there will be a ‘maps special’ which will tie the whole series together.

A VERY EARLY START

With my flight to Gatwick due to leave Arlanda Airport at 7:30AM there were two ways I could get to the airport early enough in the morning. I could either take a significant length walk to a ‘flygbussarna’ stop and get a bus to the airport, or I could get a tunnelbana train at 4:22AM and catch the Arlanda Express from Stockholm Central (the main station would not be open, but the Arlanda Express terminal would). I opted for the latter, borrowing an access card for the tunnelbana which I have subsequently posted back to Sweden.

I departed the flat in which I had stayed for my last two nights in Sweden at 4AM, aware that I would not be able to access Huvudsta station by way of the shopping centre, but would instead have to walk round to the official tunnelbana entrance. I arrived at T-Centralen with plenty of time to make the long interchange, purchase my Arlanda Express ticket and board the 5:05AM train.

ARLANDA AIRPORT

Regular trains have a station called Arlanda Central, and you have to pay a premium to access the airport from there. The Arlanda Express calls at two stations, Arlanda South and Arlanda North, and the premium for using the airport is more than included in the cost of the fare. For my flight Arlanda North was the station, and a combination of the speed of the train and the smoothness with which I progessed through the airport means that I was seated close to the departure gate over an hour before the flight was due to take off. Here are the last photos from this holiday…

dscn4480
The first four pictures are at Huvudsta awaiting the train to T-Centralen

dscn4481dscn4482dscn4483

dscn4484
The plane I would be travelling to Gatwick in viewed from the departure gate.

GATWICK TO KING’S LYNN

Apart from a bit of a wait in the baggage hall because I had arrived there before the bags from our flight did I passed through the airport without incident, and was able to catch the 10:30 Gatwick Express to Victoria (one could do the journey changing just once from St Pancras to King’s Cross, but the slowness of the Gatwick – St Pancras service means that this costs in time terms), which in turn meant that I got to King’s Cross in time to catch the 11:45 to King’s Lynn, and was thus back at my flat before 2PM. On the Gatwick to Victoria leg of the journey I found myself playing good Samaritan to some American tourists, who knew where they were staying but not how to get there. As befits someone who runs a website about London transport I was able to advise them as to the best routes.

 

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

3 thoughts on “Departure Time”

Leave a Reply

