Anti-Bullying Week

A couple of infographics for anti-bullying week.

This week is anti-bullying week (twitter users will note that I have added a ‘twibbon’ to my profile pic), so here are a couple of infographics for you:

abwbully

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

8 thoughts on “Anti-Bullying Week”

  1. Yes – I agree with Anna, let’s extend anti-bullying week to 52 weeks! Bullies cause so much misery and yet when I worked in schools seeing children with ‘issues’, it was always the victims and never the bullies under the spotlight. I was supposed to teach them ‘non-victim’ habits. So that is as good as saying, ‘it’s your fault!’. And sometimes, teachers were the worst offenders! My hair is an unusual colour, not ginger, not blonde but a mix of the two and I was bullied mercilessly by the kids with ‘normal’ hair. How I longed for brown hair! But now, as a ‘mature woman’, I am SO thankful for my hair colour because I have not gone grey yet like the kids who bullied me.

    1. The attitudes you encountered at that school are one reason why the problem persists. Any approach that suggests the victims are in any way to blame is automatically flawed.

      1. Yes – definitely! And sadly, the more I tried to change things, the more opposition I encountered from people in senior positions. I was eventually pushed out of my job because of the ‘problems’ I caused.

        They way I was pushed out was a form of bullying. But I challenged the local authority with the help of a solicitor and barrister and gave them a run for their money. Sadly, the outcome means I am silenced but there is SO much I would love to write about the situation I was in. And the losers? The children in schools today who have no voice.

        And many of the children I worked with were autistic children whose way of perceiving the world was seen as something that needed to change to fit in with ‘the norm’. School was terrifying for some of these children, not because of any fault in them but because of faults in a system that promotes conformity to a very narrow norm.

        There is never any desire for the mainstream to adapt to the needs of people whose perception or cognitive functioning is different to the majority. Not inferior – just different. It is beyond unacceptable and yet things seem to be getting worse in schools from what I am told.

Leave a Reply

