Isaac Newton

newtonWho was born this day:  Isaac 25th Dec 1642 (a tiny prem baby), who survived the great plague and died in his sleep 20th March 1727 at the age of 85.

A physicist, mathematician, natural philosopher and a fellow of Trinity College.

Later in life he devoted a great deal of his time to alchemy and a study of his hair revealed mercury

newton

Words from his memoir:  ‘I do not know what I may appear to the world, but to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the sea-shore, and diverting myself in now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.’

I believewe’reallchildren, the truthisagreat ocean,thatwewouldall do very welltogazeat, inaweandto wonder.

View original post

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.