The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Neurotypicality: a handbook on the rest of the world for Asperger’s / autistic people

The best ‘role-reversal’ type piece of autistic blogging that I have yet come across – I will probably be linking to the original again, especially as in not very long I have a birthday coming up that relates to the title of this post…

the silent wave

(Beginning note: this is meant to be equal parts satire, seriousness, and helpful.  It’s not meant to sound superior, condescending, or anything else.  As usual, what follows is strictly my own opinion.  Also, the words allistic and neurotypical (often abbreviated “NT”) are, for these purposes, used interchangeably to refer to non-autistic people.  And last but not least, please understand that this is not directed at all allistic people…only the people who fit the description.)


~~DON’T PANIC~~

Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of western civilization lies a small unregarded segment of the population.  This population has a problem, which was this: we’re largely invisible. Many solutions were suggested for this problem (Autism Awareness, Light-It-Up-Blue campaigns, etc), but most of these were largely concerned with “fixing” the people on the spectrum, which is odd because on the whole it wasn’t the spectrum people that needed fixing. And…

View original post 2,519 more words

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.