World Autism Awareness Day

A post for World Autism Awareness Day featuring yesterday at Musical Keys and a number of autism related links.

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to World Autism Awareness Day. This post has two parts, an account with photographs, of Musical Keys yesterday and some autism related links. 

MUSICAL KEYS

Musical Keys is one of the events available to members of NAS West Norfolk, and it runs fortnightly on Saturdays. Yesterday was one of those Saturdays, and it seems appropriate to write about it for World Autism Awareness Day. Although most of the focus will be on the event itself, for me it also involves two walks, one in each direction, and my coverage therefore starts with…

GETTING THERE

The weather being pleasant I decided to extend the walk there by starting off along the river front and through Hardings Pits, only joining one of my usual routes at Tennyson Avenue. Here are some photos from this walk…

DSCN5390DSCN5391DSCN5392DSCN5393DSCN5394DSCN5395DSCN5396DSCN5397

THE SESSION ITSELF

The sessions nowadays feature musical instruments, computers and i-pads. Also, John from Musical Keys was recording people, which I captured on my camera. I was on one of the computers when not taking photographs. Before the session got underway I told people that I would be taking photographs, why I would be taking them and that the intention was that they should be shared widely. Here then are some photos:

THE WALK BACK

The walk back was uneventful, although I did bag a couple more pictures.

DSCN5459DSCN5460

SOME AUTISM RELATED LINKS

I start the sharing process with…

TWO VIDEOS FROM AmericanBadassAdvocates

These two videos from AmericanBadassAdvocates are respectively about Julia the autistic character on Sesame Street and an attack on the ‘blue jigsaw piece’ people.

OTHER LINKS

AmericanBadassAdvocates also put up this piece about London listening and not ‘lighting up blue’ but instead ‘lighting up pink’, pink being one of the colours of the National Autistic Society. To read in full please click the image below.

I am taking the next two links together because they are complementary. Broken Brain – Brilliant Mind with “#REDinstead for Autism acceptance – now, there’s an idea” and thesilentwaveblog with “Don’t ‘light it up blue‘ for me” each provide compelling reasons for avoiding blue and using red instead to raise autism awareness. The two graphics below provide links to each post in the order in which I have mentioned them.

redinstead

The Art of Autism have produced a post consisting of 18 Temple Grandin quotes. Once again I link by way of an image:

Temple Grandin's ability to think like a cow has enabled her to design over half of all cattle facilities in the United States

Our Autism Blog has put up a post titled “Meltdown, tantrum or bad behaviour”, which I link to by way of the infographic below:

My last two links, which end the post are on a theme of…

ROLE REVERSAL

Erin Human has produced a post in which she comes up with alternative designation for April of ‘Ableism Awareness Month’. Click on the graphic below to read in full:

I conclude my World Autism Awareness Day post with a link to that most brilliant of all role reversal posts, thesilentwaveblog’s “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Neurotypicality: a handbook on the rest of the world for Asperger’s / autistic people”. Click the image below to read in full:

 

 

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

