Scotland – Thursday: Mallaig

The stop in Mallaig.

INTRODUCTION

Welcome to the next post in my series about my holiday in ScotlandThis post covers the hour and a half at Mallaig that The Jacobite allows. 

MALLAIG

Naturally, I commenced proceedings at Mallaig by taking the opportunity to get some photos of the train:

JacobiteIIThe JacobiteMHCnumberFront of LocoCabLogoLoco2

I had noticed the presence of a Heritage Centre close to the station. Unfortunately such is the extent to which Mallaig has embraced its status as a tourist trap that they were charging for admission, so I got nor further than the gift shop.

Jacobite train long viewJacobite Loco 3Jacobie Loco3Jacobite Loco2Skye + Wester RossJacobite LocoMHC2MHC1

The rain eased sufficiently for me to explore a little further.

Herring GullwagtailSea view

While on the train I had purchased a souvenir route map. In Mallaig I also bought a pictorial map of Skye and Wester Ross:

The Iron Road to the Isles
The route map.
Skye and Wester Ross 2
Two pics of the pictorial map.

Skye and Wester Ross

 

Author: Thomas

I am branch secretary of NAS West Norfolk and #actuallyautistic (diagnosed 10 years ago at the comparatively advanced age of 31). I am a keen photographer, so that most of my own posts contain photos. I am a keen cricket fan and often write about that subject. I also focus a lot on politics and on nature.

Leave a Reply

